Integrating the shards

This week I was in London city trading centre for work purposes. When walking to the office I passed these two impressive towers, very closely located to each other. In the front you see the Southwark Cathedral and in the back you see the glass skyscraper The Shard. The Shard is the 4th biggest tower in the EU reaching over 300 meters. In my mind the Shard represents a decadent peak of materialism and wealth. The name ‘Shard’ for this tower feels correct to me as both a shard of glass and this tower seem to be disconnected from a bigger whole.

I had a similar feeling this week: amidst this much display of wealth, I felt a bit disconnected and somewhat a loss of purpose. With everybody around me being so concerned with work, success and money, I asked myself what the purpose of work is. Is it to make money, to belong to a social group and standard, or is there a sense of purpose?

I felt drawn towards the tower in front: the Southwark Cathedral. I was intrigued to find a cathedral amidst this busy work centre. Thursday morning, before work, I visited the cathedral. I hoped to get some relief from the disconnected feeling which I had. The cathedral felt like an oasis of tranquillity. Sitting in the back, I noticed that in the centre of the cathedral there were stars hanging (Christmas decoration for Three Kings). Looking at the star I noticed that a five pointed star actually consists of 5 shards combined. Then I realised why I had this disconnected feeling. The material world is only the outer representation of what is. Beyond physical reality there are the other three elements. And they all are combined and ensouled by the fifth element of ether. In the tarot the star symbolises the highest vision of hope and trust with the understanding of cosmic coherence.

For me the star represented the integrating potential of all which surrounds us. Yes we life in a material world, but the challenge is to include and align the other four elements in our life as well. This is what the symbol of the star in the Southwark Cathedral achieved this for me. I felt a bit as if I was falling to pieces, but in reality I was opening myself up again to a bigger understanding.

Leave a Reply

