How Ecstatic Ironing is an example of Hermetic Flow Dance

I think, I am not the only one who is not particularly fond of ironing shirts. For this reason I am always listening to music when ironing and eventually I started dancing along the tunes. Sometimes the music would really hit me and I would dance ecstatically. And to my surprise I was still able to iron the shirts! Now, obviously ironing is not the most difficult activities in life, but at least you do need to have some sense of coordination and a steady hand. And this is not an easy feat when dancing ecstatically.

Now, a couple of years (and a lot of laundry!) later, I realise that Ecstatic Ironing is in fact an example of Hermetic Flow Dance. I connect with the flow, I contain the energy and I create with the raised energy. In this case, rather than flapping my arms around all over the place, I produce nice and wrinkless shirts! What makes Ecstatic Ironing Hermetic Flow Dance is the paradox of ecstatic movement (flow) on one side and Hermetic contained movement (ironing) on the other integrated into one and the same dance. To be able to integrate both together at the same time is a very intense dancing meditation.

Leave a Reply

