In fields of gold with your higher self

Today, I listened to Fields of Gold performed by Eva Cassidy. It hits me straight to the heart. My emotions are gently stirred and the song takes me away to lustful summer fields filled with wheat. The sun light dances over the yellow tops of the field and all is pure gold.

The song reminds me of that precious promise which I have made a couple of times in my life. Once I held a love in the sea and as the sun danced on the waves I told her that I would never let her go. Another time, another person, I made the same promise as I held her lying in bed with our tear filled eyes. ‘I will pledge my loyalty to you. I will overcome all challenges which will face us. I will change myself for us.’ Especially the last promise is very dangerous.

Then reality kicks in: these loves are gone now. The memories remain, although the initial fields of gold are stained with thick layers of shit (which, by the way, is a great fertilizer!).

In the song many years have gone and the couple celebrates their love with children running on the same fields of gold. In my reality, years go by and because of my previous experiences, the fields of gold are further away than ever. No longer can I look at fields of gold and only see the innocent waving of the wheats in the sun. I also see the harvest, a long cold winter, and future seasons which repeat all for reasons unknown to me.

My response to this song comes forward in the emotional cry of Eva at the beginning and the end of the song: hoe (hoe means how in Dutch)? After many years of personal development I realize more and more that my true love will most likely not be found with a physical partner.

And thus I turn to this other partner that I have: my inner self. One more time I listen to the song and I imagine that I sing this song for my higher self. And I remember how at one time my days were filled with darkness and sorrow. And I remember my pledge to my higher self that the glass would no longer be half empty, but half filled. How I slowly accept myself more and more for who I am even though I might cost me some people along the road. As a result slowly I am filling my field with golden experiences. A sunset in the car with a beautiful song. Looking into the dancing golden lights in a sauna pool. Having mystical experiences when dancing.

Yes, now, I feel the power of this song again. No longer does it taste bitter. It is a renewal of my commitment to my Self to walk in fields of Light. Slowly, more and more, I see my passions becoming material as if they are children running in joy through the fields of gold.

Leave a Reply

